Interdisziplinäres

Institut für Umweltsystemforschung


Navigation und Suche der Universität Osnabrück


Hauptinhalt

Topinformationen

International Teaching, Study and Research at the School of Mathematics / Computer Science

The internationalisation of research and, in particular, teaching is one of the central objectives at Osnabrück University. The integration into international research and teaching networks increases the attractiveness and stability of the scientific location Osnabrück. Projects for the systematisation and professionalisation of internationalisation efforts at the university are summarized in the Future Concept UOS 2020.

 

Research International

The international integration of the research work is diverse. Most of the projects are compiled in the university's research database. There are also bilateral and multilateral cooperations with numerous foreign scientific institutions. The following externally subsidized projects are exemplarily mentioned:

Know2Adapt - Knowledge Transfer for Climate Change Adaptation
Funding: EU
Duration: 2017
Partner: Institute of Environmental Systems Research (J. Vinke - de Kruif) and others.

Stochastic Models for the Inventory Management of Bloodbanks
Funding: GIF (German-Israeli Foundation)
Duration: 2017
Partner: Institute of Mathematics (W. Stadje) and others.

Combinatorial and Computational Methods in Commutative Algebra
Funding: MIUR-DAAD Joint Mobility Program (PPP Italien)
Duration: 2017
Partner: Institute of Mathematics (M. Juhnke), Università degli Studi di Genova.

MHE - Motivic Hopf Equations
Funding: Norges Forskningsradet (Research Council of Norway)
Laufzeit: 2018
Partner: Institute of Mathematics (O. Röndigs) and others.

Behavioral Economics of Environmental Policy
Funding: Alexander-von-Humboldt-Stiftung
Duration: 2019
Partner: Institute of Environmental Systems Research (S. Engel) and others.

DAFNE - Use of a Decision-Analytic Framework to explore the water-energy-food NExus in complex and trans-boundary water resources systems of fast growing developing countries
Funding: EU
Laufzeit: 2020
Partner: Institute of Environmental Systems Research (C. van Bers, C. Knieper, C. Lumosi, C. Pahl-Wostl, G. Scholz) and others.

MEDUWA - Vechte: MEDicines Unwanted in WAter
Funding: EU
Duration: 2020
Partner: Institute of Environmental Systems Research (C. van Bers, J. Klasmeier) and others.

Furthermore, at all institutes foreign PhD students are supervised, who are funded by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (AvH) or other external and foreign sources. The Research Training Group at the Institute of Mathematics is an important building block in the internationalisation of research and teaching at the school. The number of foreign PostDocs has also risen in recent years. The latter are also active in teaching, thus increasing the offer of courses in English language.

 

Teaching International

The internationalisation of higher education institutions, especially teaching, is a complex task for teachers and students. In the last few years the area has developed into an independent direction of social science research. The results imply that it is not sufficient just to offer more English-language courses or to promote the international exchange of students and teaching staff. The latter is necessary, but the goal of internationalisation is rather the generation of international and intercultural competences, which enable a committed work and life in a globalized world. These competencies can differ from subject to subject. According to experience, hardly more than 25% of students will (be able to) participate in international exchange. "Internationalisation@Home", virtual mobility such as webinars or international series of lectures, participation in and organisation of international summer schools, the application for international graduate schools, or the like is therefore particularly important.

The internationalisation of teaching at the School of Mathematics / Computer Science requires a concerted action of the teaching units together with those of the secondary and application subjects. This applies not only to the master degree programs, but also to all bachelor and two-subject bachelor courses.

Studies and Internships Abroad

The students of all subjects have the opportunity to take part in study programs abroad. This includes internships. Exchange programs such as ERASMUS+ of the European Union, scholarships of the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) or of the Fulbright Foundation are helpful. In addition, applications can be submitted to the International Office of the University for funding through the program to increase the mobility of German students (PROMOS, supported by the DAAD) and for mobility grants.

ERASMUS+ partner universities can be found here, those from outside ERASMUS+ area here. Individual applications as so-called freemovers are possible as well.

The websites of the International Office are very informative. Open questions of detail can be clarified there or in a personal discussion with the staff of the International Office or with the School's officer for internationalisation. Currently, this is

Horst Malchow, Professor at the Institute of Environmental Systems Research. A prior appointment by e-mail is requested.

 

One may be grown so old, so learned, so wise and tasteful as one would like - a journey (to Italy) still gives the spirit a new incitation. Georg Christoph Lichtenberg (German Physicist and Writer, 1742-1799)

Interdisziplinäres

Institut für Umweltsystemforschung


Navigation und Suche der Universität Osnabrück


Hauptinhalt

Topinformationen

International Lehren, Studieren und Forschen am Fachbereich Mathematik/Informatik

Die Internationalisierung von Forschung und insbesondere der Lehre ist eines der zentralen Ziele an der Universität Osnabrück. Die Einbindung in internationale Forschungs- und Lehrnetze erhöht die Attraktivität und Stabilität des Wissenschaftsstandortes Osnabrück. Vorhaben zur Systematisierung und Professionalisierung der Internationalisierungsbestrebungen der Universität sind im Zukunftskonzept UOS 2020 zusammengestellt.

 

Forschung am Fachbereich international

Die internationale Einbindung der Forschung am Fachbereich ist vielfältig. Die meisten Projekte sind in der Forschungsdatenbank der Universität zusammengestellt. Darüber hinaus gibt es bi- und multilaterale Kooperationen mit zahlreichen ausländischen Wissenschaftsinstitutionen. Exemplarisch seien folgende extern geförderte Projekte genannt:

MHE - Motivic Hopf Equations
Finanzierung: Norges Forskningsradet (Research Council of Norway)
Laufzeit: 2018
Partner: IfM (O. Röndigs) und weitere.

DAFNE - Use of a Decision-Analytic Framework to explore the water-energy-food NExus in complex and trans-boundary water resources systems of fast growing developing countries
Finanzierung: EU
Laufzeit: 2020
Partner: IUSF (C. van Bers, C. Knieper, C. Lumosi, C. Pahl-Wostl, G. Scholz) und weitere.

Know2Adapt - Knowledge Transfer for Climate Change Adaptation
Finanzierung: EU
Laufzeit: 2017
Partner: IUSF (J. Vinke - de Kruif) und weitere.

Stochastic Models for the Inventory Management of Bloodbanks
Finanzierung: GIF (German-Israeli Foundation)
Laufzeit: 2017
Partner: IfM (W. Stadje) und weitere.

Combinatorial and Computational Methods in Commutative Algebra
Finanzierung: MIUR-DAAD Joint Mobility Program (PPP Italien)
Laufzeit: 2017
Partner: IfM (M. Juhnke), Università degli Studi di Genova.

MEDUWA - Vechte: MEDicines Unwanted in WAter
Finanzierung: EU
Laufzeit: 2020
Partner: IUSF (C. van Bers, J. Klasmeier) und weitere.

Behavioral Economics of Environmental Policy
Finanzierung: Alexander-von-Humboldt-Stiftung
Laufzeit: 2019
Partner: IUSF (S. Engel) und weitere.

Darüber hinaus werden an allen Instituten ausländische Promovierende betreut, die aus Mitteln der DFG, des DAAD, der Alexander-von-Humboldt-Stiftung oder anderen externen auch ausländischen Quellen finanziert werden. Das Graduiertenkolleg am IfM ist sicher wesentlicher Baustein der Internationalisierung von Forschung und Lehre am Fachbereich. Auch die Zahl ausländischer PostDocs ist in den vergangenen Jahren gestiegen. Letztere sind auch in der Lehre aktiv und erhöhen damit zusätzlich den Anteil englischsprachiger Lehrveranstaltungen.

 

Lehre am Fachbereich international

Empfehlung der HRK zur Internationalisierung der Curricula vom 9. Mai 2017

Die Internationalisierung der Hochschulen und insbesondere der Lehre ist eine komplexe Aufgabe an Lehrkörper und Studierende. Das Gebiet hat sich in den letzten Jahren zu einer eigenständigen Richtung sozialwissenschaftlicher Forschung entwickelt. Zu den Resultaten zählt, dass es nicht damit getan ist, ausländische Lehrkräfte zu verpflichten, mehr englischsprachige Lehrveranstaltungen anzubieten oder den internationalen Austausch von Studierenden und Lehrenden zu fördern. Das gehört dazu, aber das Ziel der Internationalisierung ist vielmehr die Bildung internationaler und interkultureller Kompetenzen, die zu einem engagierten Arbeiten und Leben in einer globalisierten Welt befähigen. Dabei können diese Kompetenzen von Fach zu Fach durchaus verschieden sein. Erfahrungsgemäß werden sich kaum mehr als 25% der Studierenden am internationalen Austausch beteiligen (können). Am Fachbereich sind es bisher wesentlich weniger. Der "Internationalisation@Home", virtueller Mobilität in Form von Webinaren oder Ringvorlesungen, der Beteiligung an und Ausrichtung von internationalen Sommerschulen, der Einwerbung internationaler Graduiertenschulen, o.ä. kommt somit besondere Bedeutung zu.

Die Internationalisierung der Lehre am Fachbereich Mathematik/Informatik erfordert eine konzertierte Aktion der Lehreinheiten gemeinsam mit denen der Neben- bzw. Anwendungsfächer. Das betrifft nicht nur die (Fach-)Masterstudiengänge sondern auch die Bachelor-, Zwei-Fächer-Bachelor- und alle Lehramtsstudiengänge.

Studien- und Praxisaufenthalte im Ausland

Die Studierenden aller Fächer haben die Möglichkeit, Teile des Studiums im Ausland zu absolvieren. Dazu gehören auch Praktika. Dabei unterstützen Austauschprogramme wie ERASMUS+ der Europäischen Union, Stipendien des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes (DAAD) oder der Fulbright-Stiftung. Darüber hinaus sind Bewerbungen beim International Office der Universität um Mittel aus dem Programm zur Steigerung der Mobilität von deutschen Studierenden (PROMOS, unterstützt vom DAAD) sowie um Mobilitätszuschüsse möglich. Das International Office führt in jedem Semester Informationsveranstaltungen zu Studium und Praktikum im Ausland sowie zu Förderungsmöglichkeiten durch.

Partneruniversitäten im Rahmen von ERASMUS+ sind hier zu finden, die außerhalb von ERASMUS+ hier. Individualbewerbungen als sogenannte Freemover sind ebenfalls möglich.

Die Webseiten des International Office sind sehr informativ. Offene Detailfragen können dort oder im persönlichen Gespräch mit Mitarbeiter(inne)n des International Office oder auch beim Internationalisierungsbeauftragten des Fachbereiches geklärt werden. Das ist derzeit

Horst Malchow, Professor am Institut für Umweltsystemforschung. Eine vorherige Terminvereinbarung per E-Mail ist ausdrücklich erwünscht.

 

Man mag so alt, so gelehrt, so weise und geschmackvoll sein, als man will - eine Reise (nach Italien) gibt immer noch dem Geist ein neues Gepräge. Georg Christoph Lichtenberg (Physiker und Schriftsteller, 1742-1799)